Hypocrites


“Indians are such hypocrites”, is probably the most used sentence by westerners. But I beg to differ…… Indians are no more hypocritical than anyone else in the world. Just today I saw a foreigner on MGRoad throw his cigrette on the footpath. Now I doubt he’d do the same in his country but if an Indian did the same it would attract a lot of criticism from fellow countrymen and the world alike. At such times it is more important to help cover up the mistake and save ourselves the humiliation of being called an unhygenic or hypocritical race than agree with the world at large and make bigger fools of ourselves.

We humans can’t help but be hypocritical. Many times we end up praising what we had earlier put down and vice-versa. Like earlier when Copernicus first said that the Earth revolves around the sun he was condemned and hung unto death and today he is considered one of the greatest men ever born. If this isn’t hypocrisy what is?

It is indeed ironic that we point out the mistakes that others make and laugh at them when we are no better than them. We find glory in others misery. We find it harder to forgive someone when they are right. As we are but humans. Mean base creatures. Doesn’t this show us how ‘great’ we truly are?

We say that all on Earth are equal yet we seek to rule and make ourselves more superior and hence more important than others. We fail to understand and appreciate what we say. It’s ironic that though we came up with the word we still fail to understand it’s meaning.

Published by

Manasa Manjunath

Automotive engineering master student from India who has a LITTLE TOO MANY interests in life. I'm not the most knowledgeable person out there but I do have an opinion about things. They need not be right but at least I'm my own person. My areas of interest range from fashion to food and literature to automobiles. I enjoy reading as much I enjoy trekking, traveling and working with cars. I love music but can't sing to save my life. I enjoy theater and have a keen interest in architecture, art, history and how they all come together. Always interested in trying new things and meeting new people. Most important part of my person you ask? Potterhead, Bangalorean and proud!

One thought on “Hypocrites”

Leave a Reply

