Of exams, cover letters and idler gears


    It’s exam season in RWTH Aachen and which everyone around me have their noses buried in books, here I am typing away on my laptop. What a surprise! I’ve thought about it a lot( while in the shower, on the toilet, that’s a LOT of time!) and I’ve come to conclusion that exam time is the only time my brain wakes up to do some work and writing happens to be one of the by-products of all this “work” and hence all the spam on this URL.

    This exam season though is special. Because it brings with it a bonus offer! Not only do I have to study for exams but I’ve to also apply to internships while doing my student job and mini thesis(fingers crossed!). So when my brain feels like a bee that’s visited one too many flowers, I turn to “work” on my applications. So far all I’ve managed to do is type up my Lebenslauf(CV); Which I’m proud to report was threatening to extend into a 3 page long saga that is my life until a friend stepped in and decided 2 hobbies are more than enough with my list of extracurriculars. But this was the easier part. Outlining all that you’ve accomplished in your life up to now(24 years and just 3 pages to show for it? Time to get to work!). You know the facts and all you need to do now is list them down and make them sound as awesome as they do in your head.

    The hard part is the cover letter. It’s bad enough when I have to write one in English, add German to the mix and you might as well be telling me to walk on a tight rope. All I end up doing is staring at a blank document willing the cover letter to write itself as I ponder how am I supposed to convince the automotive giants of the world to consider me for an internship. In a single page. In German! (FYI: I’m not that bad. Just being dramatic here. Please play along)

    The problem lies not in the language. German is probably the best language you could choose to write your cover letter. It’s frank, simple and there’s absolutely no beating about the bush. If you’re looking for a way to convince someone about something in a page then German’s got to be your language. It gives you the facts as they are! No frills attached! The problem is that while I can read, write and understand, when it comes to speaking and composing sentences my brain just shuts down. So instead of writing that cover letter, here I am writing about why I can’t.

    It’s surprising how suddenly garrulous I am when it comes to stuff that has nothing to do with my work or studies. Politics, movies, music, take your pick and you’ll be showered with verbal vomit, There are so many thoughts running amok in my head that you may actually hear a whirring noise if you get close enough. If you’re unlucky enough, you may just unwillingly be treated to a speech on various topics which have nothing in common whatsoever. Two mornings ago I was wondering why Auto drivers always try to rip you off while I was showering (The answer if you’re wondering is because they have no fixed income forcing them to make the most everyday. That was productive now wasn’t it?!). Yes, yes, I’m quite the idea machine, just don’t sit me down and make me write an exam or cover letter. Sometimes I wonder if it’s my laziness(which happens to be the prime reason for my sporadic blog posts) but then again I am actively typing out this here so I believe that it’s just that whenever that gear indicating important/required/necessary comes into drive, the entire system just gets jammed up until someone adds in the idler gear that is a deadline(read fire up my ass). So here’s hoping I find a way to fix my ratios before the idler gear arrives else man! am I going to be in serious trouble!

Published by

Manasa Manjunath

Automotive engineering master student from India who has a LITTLE TOO MANY interests in life. I'm not the most knowledgeable person out there but I do have an opinion about things. They need not be right but at least I'm my own person. My areas of interest range from fashion to food and literature to automobiles. I enjoy reading as much I enjoy trekking, traveling and working with cars. I love music but can't sing to save my life. I enjoy theater and have a keen interest in architecture, art, history and how they all come together. Always interested in trying new things and meeting new people. Most important part of my person you ask? Potterhead, Bangalorean and proud!

7 thoughts on “Of exams, cover letters and idler gears”

  1. Have you applied for internship at JLR (UK based TATA Motors Subsidiery) ? If not, apply and try your luck.

    Like

  2. I also share the same interest, but may be in different domain of Automotive. I liked the view been discussed on Lebenslauf, German is the best language for Cover letter not like English where we do lot lot to impress the reader than content!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

