5 year anniversary


    On opening my WordPress account today, I found a surprise awaiting me. Apparently I’ve been with WordPress for 5 years now. That’s a really long time! 5 years is almost a fifth of my entire life time and all I’ve managed are 30 odd posts. I’d started a blog as a place to vent my verbal ire, to write things that most people I know wouldn’t want to discuss, to improve my writing and primarily because this is the one place where once I start speaking there’s no one to interrupt me.

    In these 5 years while I haven’t really accomplished what I set out to do, I have learned a lot. I’ve come across blog posts and blogs that have inspired me, that have educated me and more importantly widened my horizon. Here, I’m not limited by my origin, age, knowledge(or lack of it) or anything else. WordPress has become my place to learn of different people’s’ opinions, learn how they think and experience life in their shoes. To quote Rory Gilmore, “I  live in two worlds”, one is the real world and the other the world of WordPress.

    Here I’ve travelled to different corners of the world through the lenses of people I don’t know. I’ve lived the daily life in war-torn countries as well as in the land of abundance. I’ve grieved the loss of a loved one and celebrated the arrival of a new member in the family. I’ve walked lonely roads and lived in dark rooms pondering over the light that everyone seems to know of. I’ve experienced favouritism and discrimination. I’ve been happy, excited, loved and appreciated and yet also hurt, sad,  abused and ashamed. Everyday is a new lesson, a new understanding, a new life. They say to really understand a person you have to walk a mile in their shoes, WordPress has become my medium to understand people without wearing out their soles.

    When I started out with the Facetted Forum, what I wanted to do was present my opinion as one facet of the world. I would never have imagined that what I was doing as well is unlocking the door to a world where I would live and experience multiple facets of the same world that I live in.

Published by

Manasa Manjunath

Automotive engineering master student from India who has a LITTLE TOO MANY interests in life. I'm not the most knowledgeable person out there but I do have an opinion about things. They need not be right but at least I'm my own person. My areas of interest range from fashion to food and literature to automobiles. I enjoy reading as much I enjoy trekking, traveling and working with cars. I love music but can't sing to save my life. I enjoy theater and have a keen interest in architecture, art, history and how they all come together. Always interested in trying new things and meeting new people. Most important part of my person you ask? Potterhead, Bangalorean and proud!

4 thoughts on “5 year anniversary”

Leave a Reply

