The internship chronicles – Part 1 – The beginning


Of course this was coming! You didn’t want to believe it was or even think it but here you go! I reach a significant milestone in my life and I don’t blog about it? What did you think this blog was for? Some highly sophisticated view of the world? Come now, don’t kid yourself. It was always about me! My life, what I do, what I think, yada yada yada. Now that we’ve eased into the topic let’s get back to the point now, shall we?

As some of you may know, I recently started an internship. 7th January to be precise. So any automobiles being made from here on out, well, let’s just say watch out. You didn’t think I’d actually name the company here now did you? I like a little mystery about me. If I gave you all the details what if one of you lands up where I stay? Not that so many people actually read this blog or anything but you know, there are strange people on the internet. Anyway, back to the point. I started an internship and this signals the start of a new series (please don’t bring up an old one. I’m working on it. I swear! *cross my fingers* ). This of course does not mean I shall blog regularly. Come on people, I have A LIFE!! Didn’t I just say I have an internship?

Now that I’ve put that point in your face, let’s move on. This internship is really good opportunity for me. I’m getting to learn a lot of stuff, meet new people, learn about what they do and most importantly, it’s invalidating everything I thought about how life would be when I started work. I mean I was realistic about it, a little at least. But oh no! Life has to show me otherwise. What is it with life anyway? Sometimes I feel that the only job that life has is to prove you wrong. In every single way.

So yes! working in R&D doesn’t mean you churn out new ideas everyday. In fact it’s a lot about looking at old ideas and wondering why they didn’t work or how to make it work. Of course you have new ideas but they involve more work than the old ones and man! is it hard! It’s fun, I’ll admit, to think that all the work you are putting in will one day translate into this amazing work of art (yes I think of cars as art. I think it’s a piece of art that you can actually think of owning. And if you don’t, well why not?). It gives you a certain sense of pride and satisfaction knowing that you were responsible for something that beautiful.

Now while the internship is teaching me a lot of new things about the industry and my subject, it’s also changing the way I live my life. I really feel like I’m growing up. I wake up in the morning(actually morning! I’m up even before the sun! and this is being done voluntarily!!), reach work at a particular time, eat lunch on time, sit in one place for more than 10 mins, talk softly and the list is endless. Basically I’m doing everything(well, almost everything) my mum always wanted me to do. Just that I’m a couple of decades too late(yes yes, I’m hinting at how old I am). So Ma, if you’re reading this, I’ll get married too, just give it a couple of decades *wink*. (I am so going to get a lecture about this tomorrow!)

So for now, I think this is enough. For more details stay tuned to this site (don’t, you’re just giving yourself false hope and waste your time). I’m signing out now. Gotta hit the hay early because I have work tomorrow (that sounds SO weird).

Published by

Manasa Manjunath

Automotive engineering master student from India who has a LITTLE TOO MANY interests in life. I'm not the most knowledgeable person out there but I do have an opinion about things. They need not be right but at least I'm my own person. My areas of interest range from fashion to food and literature to automobiles. I enjoy reading as much I enjoy trekking, traveling and working with cars. I love music but can't sing to save my life. I enjoy theater and have a keen interest in architecture, art, history and how they all come together. Always interested in trying new things and meeting new people. Most important part of my person you ask? Potterhead, Bangalorean and proud!

One thought on “The internship chronicles – Part 1 – The beginning”

Leave a Reply

